09 September 2022

The European Commission launched the eighth edition of the European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital). The European Capital of Innovation Awards (iCapital) is an annual recognition prize awarded to the European cities shaping the local innovation ecosystems and best promoting innovation in their communities.

iCapital is one of the four EIC Prizes granted under Horizon Europe, the EU's research and innovation framework programme. The prize is managed by the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, and the winners are chosen following an assessment performed by two high-level juries of independent experts.

The contest will award six prizes in two categories: the European Capital of Innovation and the Rising Innovative City.

Başakşehir Municipality, which applied in the category of “European Capital of Innovation”, is among the candidates who made it to the semi-finals in its category. The semi-finalists in this category are as follows

  • Aix-Marseille (France)
  • Başakşehir (Türkiye)
  • Espoo (Finland)
  • Madrid (Spain)
  • Valencia (Spain)
  • Warsaw (Poland)

As a result of the call, whose application date ended on 30 June 2022, the awards are planned to be given to the winning cities at the EIC Summit to be held on 7/8 December 2022.

For the semi-final results announcement, you can reach the relevant page of the European Innovation Council from the link below:


Similar News